Into the woods

Last year, we paid a visit to a hidden treasure right in the middle of the city. Not much far from the concrete jungle is a jungle of the wild and the untamed. I am delighted to share with you a poem that I wrote inspired by that visit to the beautiful woodland. The poem is called “Into the woods” and it captures the sights and sounds of nature that we encountered along the way. The photographs were all taken during our walk. See for yourself how many of them you can relate to the poem!

These yellow roads lead to the wood,
Through the bushes and vines where the birds brood.
The rustic green archway welcomes us,
Pleading only to be a little hush.
A little bird hops past our way
Carelessly, in its own sweet sway.
An abandoned car lay still,
Creating stories of its past thrill.
A little ahead is the butterflies' home,
Fluttering away from their nest as we come.
Into the heart of the dense grove,
A streak of light shines on a treasure trove.
A long-tail nightjar sitting alone,
Meditating about memories bygone.
A mesmerizing bamboo forest hidden from sight…
Wonder it's beauty in bright moonlight.
A small pond with fishes galore,
Where fox cubs had a play before.
A little heaven of birds and trees,
Nestled away from the hustling cities.

I hope you enjoyed reading my poem and looking at the pictures. It was a wonderful experience for me to explore the woods and discover its beauty and secrets. I felt a connection with nature that I had never felt before. I learned to appreciate the simple things in life, like the sound of a bird or the sight of a butterfly. I also realized how important it is to protect our environment and preserve its diversity. The woods are a precious gift that we should cherish and respect. Thank you for joining me on this journey into the woods!


4 thoughts on “Into the woods

Add yours

I would love to know your thoughts on this!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑